Getting Emerald on Ubuntu 11.04

In an earlier post I wrote about the problems I had with Emerald after my upgrade to Ubuntu 11.04. The version in the Ubuntu repositories simply will not run with the new Compiz in 11.04. Don’t ask me why they let a nonfunctional package in their repositories…

It has since come to my attention that there is a newer release of Emerald that’s actually working with the current version of Compiz. There are two ways you can get Emerald on your Natty-installation:

  • You can pull in the source from git and compile it yourself. There is an excellent guide how to do it here.
  • You can add this PPA to your sources.list. Just run sudo add-apt-repository ppa:malteworld/compiz in a terminal, followed by sudo apt-get update and then finally sudo apt-get install emerald to install it on your system.

Now just enjoy having your eye-candy back. I was missing my window decorations!

Leave a comment